Published Date : 2020-02-10 (Modified Date : 2020-02-10)

History of Museum in Nepal begins with the establishment of silkhana Museum (Arsenal Museum) in 1926 A.D. which is popularly known as Chhauni silkhana. The museum building was built by Prime Minister General Bhimsen Thapa in the year 1819 A.D. for the Arsenal housing. The name of Chauni Silkhana was converted in to Nepal Museum in 1939 A.D. It is known as Nepal National Museum since 1967 A.D. At present there are more than fifty museums in Nepal including community and private museums. All Government museums are run under the Department of Archaeology. A list of museums is presented below which are under the Nepal Government.